PSL expands to 12 teams

The Philippine SuperLiga family just got bigger as both the men’s and women’s divisions parade new teams.

In the distaff side, the AirAsia Flying Spikers will board in the women’s side. They will be bannered by the core of De La Salle-Manila’s UAAP champion squads the past few years.

Taking in a new corporate sponsor are the two-time champions Army Troopers, which now carry the Generika Drugstore brand. Meanwhile, PSL Grand Prix bottom dwellers RC Cola Raiders will be boosted by Air Force volleybelles this season.

The rest of the women’s division are the Cignal HD Spikers, Petron Blaze Spikers, PLDT Power Attackers, and Cagayan Province Rising Suns.

Over at the men’s division, inaugural champions PLDT Power Attacks will be reinforced by players from Air Force. Another holdover from last season is runner up team Systema Active Smashers led by Richard Gomez.

Joining them are the Cignal HD Spikers, Instituto Estetica Manila, and Via Mare, who is the team sponsor of the University of the Philippines Alumni volleyball squad.

All games of the All-Filipino Conference will be aired on Solar Sports, the official broadcaster of the PSL. Solar Sports is on Sky Cable (Ch. 70), Destiny Cable (Ch. 35), Cignal (Ch. 55), and Cablelink (Ch. 58).

PSL’s 2014 All Filipino Conference is sponsored by PLDT Home DSL and backed by Mikasa, Asics, Mueller Tapes, Jinling Sports Equipment, LGR, Bench and Healthway Medical.

An elaborate Opening Ceremony will be witnessed by fans on May 16, Friday, 1:00 PM at Cuneta Astrodome, Pasay City. Tickets are free on a free-seating policy and are now available until 15 May on a first-come-first-serve basis until ticket’s last at SCORE office, Unit 220, Cityland Vito Cruz Tower 1, 720 Vito Cruz, Malate,Manila. ( in front of Rizal Memorial Sports Complex). For details, please call 353-39-35 and look for Anjel. (Reporting by JP Abcede)