Gold: Petron; Silver: F2 Logistics and Complete List of Individual Awards

Petron essayed a fitting ending to its storied journey as it dominated F2 Logistics, 25-22, 26-24, 25-23, in Game 3 of their Philippine Superliga All-Filipino Conference best-of-three finals series last night at the Filoil Flying V Centre.

Aiza Maizo-Pontillasu asserted her vast experience while Bernadeth Pons provided the firepower for the Blaze Spikers, who bounced back after being denied of a sweep in this prestigious women’s club tourney bankrolled by Isuzu, Mikasa, Senoh, Asics, Mueller, UCPB Gen and Bizooku with Genius Sports as technical sponsor.

Maizo-Pontillas fired 12 kills to finish with 13 points while Pons chipped in 11 for Petron, which flirted with disaster in the second set before restoring order en route to a successful title defense.

Rhea Dimaculangan who outplayed Kim Fajardo with 31 excellent sets, clinched the Most Valuable Player honor while Rachel Anne Daquis (1st Best Outside Spiker), Patty Jane Orendain (2nd Best Outside Spiker), Ria Meneses (1st Best Middle Blocker), Majoy Baron (2nd Best Middle Blocker), Fajardo (Best Setter), Maizo-Pontillas (Best Opposite), Kath Arado (Best Libero) and Mylene Paat (Best Scorer) were all given special awards.

Meanwhile, University of the Philippines took down University of Santo Tomas, 25-22, 16-25, 25-23, 25-19, to emerge as the inaugural champion of the Collegiate Grand Slam.

Skipper Tots Carlos powered the Lady Maroons, who dominated erstwhile-unbeaten Tigresses to cop the gold medal in this this prestigious collegiate tourney.

Carlos delivered 15 kills, a block and an ace for 17 points while rookie Nicole Magsarile also starred as she chipped in 11 hits as well as Marist Layug, who provided the championship-clinching kill.

“We fought because that’s out motto of the day. We fought to the end and it worked,” Lady Maroons’ head coach Godfrey Okumu said.

“We fought until the end. Even if when we were down we just kept on reminding ourselves that we have to fight. That’s what we came here to do today.”

“We were down and it was a hard work to pick ourselves up but I’m happy that we were able to pick ourselves up.”

Taking the bronze medal was University of the East, which crushed Far Eastern University, 27-25, 25-23, 25-16, in the earlier match.

With skipper Meann Mendez leading the way, the Lady Red Warriors clobbered the Lady Tamaraws in one hour and 26 minutes to land on the medal podium of this tourney that also has ESPN5, Hyper HD and Aksyon TV as broadcast partners.

Mendez dropped bombs from the firing end as she finished 15 kills and an ace for 16 points while Judith Abil delivered 12 markers and 10 excellent receptions for UE, which grabbed its first medal in a major women’s volleyball tourney since Season 67 of the University Athletic Association of the Philippines.

“Our mindset coming into this match is that we want to finish the season on a positive note. We’re happy to win the bronze medal,” said UE head coach Karl Dimaculangan.

Dimaculangan, also an assistant coach at Generika-Ayala and brother of Petron setter Rhea Dimaculangan, said they could have easily finished the Lady Tamaraws if not for their 32 errors.

“We’re still very prone to errors. We gave a lot of points to FEU just like what happened in our loss to them in the eliminations,” said Dimaculangan.

“But I’m glad that my players recovered after a tight first two sets and lessen our errors in the third.”

2019 All Filipino Conference Individual Awardees

MVP Rhea Dimaculangan, Petron
Best Scorer Myleen Paat, Cignal HD
Best Libero Kathleen Arado, Generika-Ayala
Best Opposite Spiker Aiza Pontillas, Petron
Best Setter Kim Fajardo, F2 Logistics
1st Best Middle Blocker Marivic Meneses, Generika-Ayala
2nd Best Middle Blocker Majoy Baron, F2 Logistics
1st Best Outside Spiker Rachel Daquis, Cignal HD
2nd Best Outside Spiker Patty Orendain, Generika-Ayala

2019 Collegiate Grand Slam Individual Awardees

MVP Tots Carlos, UP
Best Scorer Milena Alessandrini, UST
Best Libero Kathleen Arado, UE
Best Setter Laizah Bendong, UE
Best Opposite Spiker Eya Laure, UST
1st Best Middle Blocker Aieshalaine Gannaban, UP
2nd Best Middle Blocker Tin Francisco, UST
1st Best Outside Spiker Tots Carlos, UP
2nd Best Outside Spiker Mean Mendrez, UE