Army Troopers make it two-and-oh in PSL

The TMS-Philippine Army Troopers have won all the Philippine SuperLiga trophies so far as they secured the PSL Grand Prix championship by defeating the Cignal HD Spikers in four sets, 25-14, 22-25, 25-17, 25-20, on December 14 at the Ynares Sports Arena.

From Finals: TMS-Army vs Cignal

Women’s division MVP Wanitchaya Luangtonglang led Army with 17 points as partner in crime Rachel Anne Daquis coughed up 16 markers. Mary Jean Balse punished the HD Spikers with quick attacks for 13 points.

From a 14-all deadlock in the fifth set, Army broke away as Daquis’ service ace zeroed in at Xie at zone six, 22-17. A spate of errors from the redshirts gave the Troopers championship point with Jovelyn Gonzaga’s quick attack from the middle closed out the match.

Li Zhanzhan and Xie Lei accumulated 29 points for Cignal, which finished as the runner up for the past two tournaments.