Asian Women's Club Championship

Schedule Buy at SM Tickets

Women's Club World Championships 2016

More info on FIVB Women's CWC Schedule

Foton Pilipinas Return With Two Wins To Place Sixth at Thai Tournament

Foton Pilipinas head coach Fabio Menta of Italy emphasized that the outcome of the tourney hardly matters as he sees a lot of positive in the young team powered by Americans Lindsay Stalzer and Ariel Usher with Jovelyn Gonzaga of RC Cola-Army, Aby Maraño of F2 Logistics and Jen Reyes of Petron serving as guest players. “We’re quite positive,” said Menta, who was formally appointed as head coach two weeks ago. “We played against quicker, more experienced players and gave court time to our younger Filipino players.” “This is what the club wanted to achieve and if you consider that we only worked together for two weeks and without two key players in Jaja (Santiago) and Jovelyn, coming back home with two victories is already a great result.”

Foton Notch First Win

“I did give playing time to Laure and Rondina, our future stars, and I need to see them with the responsibility of winning a game with no ‘outside help,’” said Menta following the match that they controlled from start to finish. “The team feels strong and motivated. We are not talking anymore about the concept and philosophy of the game like in our first trainings, but we now analyze details and correlations.” Menta added that he fielded Stalzer and Usher sparingly to give maximum exposure to the local players, who will banner the team in the Philippine Superliga Grand Prix starting October. “I wanted Filipino players to gain maximum international exposure,” he said. “So for the first two sets, I played with one import at a time; Stalzer in the first and Usher in the second.”
1 2 3 255